This was part of the Human Planet finale last night and I thought I would share it with you guys. This is an urban metropolis that I am sure everyone will agree that they would love to live or work here.

This fantastic looking urban jungle is an experimental sustainable development. Masdar is being design by Fosters + Partners and is a zero emission city, inspired by the traditional towns found around Abu Dhabi but mixed with ultra modern elements to create a very distinctive and visually admirable design. The terracotta texture contrasting with the stainless steel and glass create a city that appears to have many layers encouraging visual exploration. From my own personal view of working within the facade design industry for nearly 2 years I am sure this would be an extremely interesting project to work on. Phase 1 is due for competition 2015 so although a long way from completion the cad images look promising and one day you may visit!

 

